Go to Content Area

About ASC

facebook twitter
Back Print
Aviation Safety Council-About ASC-Organizations

I. Responsibilities

ASC's duties are as the following:

  1. Manage notification, investigation, cause identification and investigation reports of aviation occurrence and issue flight safety recommendations.
  2. Coordinate and communicate with aviation occurrence investigation organizations and flight safety organizations in the nation and abroad.
  3. Analyze the trend of the aviation occurrences, follow up the execution of the flight safety recommendations, research the latest developments in the investigation work and projects of significant flight safety events.
  4. Establish the capability of the investigation technique of the aviation occurrence, read out flight recorders and analyze aircraft performance.
  5. Study, establish, revise and abolish regulations related to the aviation occurrence investigation.
  6. Other matters related to the aviation occurrence investigation.

II. Organization

Following 'Articles of Organization of Aviation Safety Council' published on March 23, 1998, the Executive Yuan of the Republic of China (R.O.C.) established 'Aviation Safety Council'.

In order to fully function as an independent investigation organization with credibility and to cooperate in government reorganization plans, 'Aviation Safety Council' became officially an independent organization on May 20, 2012 after 'Organization Act of Aviation Safety Council' went through the third reading by the Legislative Yuan on October 28, 2011 and was promulgated by Presidential Decree No. 10000252521 on November 14, 2011.

ASC consists of five to seven Board members, appointed by the Premier, to serve a three-year term; including one of them as Chairman to be in charge of overall management, to lead and supervise subordinates and to be the external representative of the ASC; one Board member as vice Chairman to assist Chairman with the ASC's management.

The structure of the ASC's organization comprises Occurrence Investigation Division, Flight Safety Division, Investigation laboratory and Secretariat.